Top 5 Lessons I learned from Programming!

Top 5 Lessons I learned from Programming!

Hello, Dev's, It's my first blog and I am a little bit nervous as I was thinking to write a blog about this topic but I kept it aside as I felt it's not my cup of tea. Then I thought why shouldn't I give it a try on writing a blog. Now I take this opportunity to share my view on this topic. I will try to keep this blog as simple as possible. So let's begin!

Introduction

My programming journey began when I joined my first-year engineering course in a private college which is in Tamilnadu. I was writing some code in ' C ' language and the compiler we guys had was Turbo C & I was like ok ! so we just have to write some code & compile it and then write the output in our record book and that's it now I have become a programmer. This continued till my final-year and in the final year itself, I got to understand that I am no longer a programmer anymore and that's where the reality struck me so hard that I didn't do well in my placement rounds where I couldn't clear any coding round and by the end of my course I lost all of my chances to get placed in many big companies.

From then I started to know my mistakes and carelessness toward my career. Though my academic performance was good enough my practical knowledge was not that up to the mark. Then I tried to understand where I am stuck and started to learn the programming languages with questions like what? , why ?, what are its application in real-time ?, and at last, I was able to choose my domain where I am comfortable & started to learn that domain from scratch.

I would like to mention one of a favorite quote:

It's never too late to learn something new.

Thus I choose web development as my career & now I am learning various technologies related to it & having fun.

Now I am going to share my top 5 lessons that I learned from Programming!

1. Patience:

patiencecover.png

I keep this lesson on my first list because it helps me to understand the problem better and allows me to think about the root cause of the problem. At an earlier stage, I used to give up on several bugs, that were so easy to solve. I would like a give an example where I was developing a tic-tac-toe project and there was a small extra space in my '.css' file that took me a whole day to solve. On that day, it gave me some time that yes I can solve the problem & I need a little more patience to understand my problem first and then try to find a relevant solution to it. Patience is the key that helped me to unlock my problem-solving approach and curiosity to find the solution.

2. Learn from Mistake

learn from mistake cover.png

I am a big call of duty game fan, I love the quotes presented in the game, one of my favorite quotes is :

  • Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts - Winston Churchill.

I always believe we programmers learn more from mistakes. Many people will agree that they remember their mistakes very well because it stays for a longer time in our memory than other things. I think our mistakes open's the door of possibility or opportunity, which helps to elevate our knowledge to the next level. So always take action, do more mistakes & learn from them.

3. More than one solution

Morethanonesolution.png

If u ask any programmer the best part of programming is you have more than one solution to a problem. Most of us are familiar with the Geeks for Geeks platform where if we need to find a solution to a problem, we get many solutions with a different approach and each solution is optimized than before. It eliminates the tradition like one question should have one answer that we learn during our school, it gives scope to different ideas or approaches to a solution. I believe this quality helps to widen the scope of knowledge in a particular field with better solutions and productivity.

4. Networking with code

NetworkCover.png

I love this programming community because this community is a central hub for all the queries, programmers from all over the world take the given problem as a challenge & try to solve it, each and everyone come up with unique solutions. This quality makes every programmer selfless and ready to help their colleague who has been stuck in a particular part of code or any error he can't resolve. Even your networking skills increase through an online platform where you get in touch with new people working in the same domain and get an opportunity to acquire new knowledge through them. The best Example is Stack Overflow, one of the best sites for programmers to share their queries and find a relevant solution just by posting their problem on that platform. Not only this, there are many platforms where we can post our problem and get the solution for it.

5. Everything has a solution

Everything.png

Last but not least one of my favorite lessons is that there is a solution to every problem, it's up to us how we approach it. This lesson keeps me to be optimistic while facing various challenges and helps me to keep motivated in my work. Sometimes, I feel low or demotivated for some things to do happen in my life and suddenly it doesn't end up well as it to be, but at the end of the day, I make it up to my mind that someday I will get the fruit for my hard work, I just need to be patient & try to believe that there is a solution to every problem in the world.

Conclusion:

There are many lessons that can be learned from programming and I mentioned only a few of them to keep it short and simple. I try to apply this lesson in my life because it is somehow relevant to the things that are going around me.

In the end, I would like to say " your life is like a program, you need to choose the proper IDE or terminal (career) to work on, there may be several bugs (Problems) in your code, you have to compile (understand ), rectify (Solve it) and execute (show your talent) your program. If errors are there, recompile (try again) and again execute. At last, you will get a message "

"Your code is compiled successfully & here is the output(Your Goal)".

Thank you very much for spending your precious time to read my blog! This was all about the lessons I learned, I hope you like it and please share your thought about my blog!

Also If you like my blog please share this with your gang of geeks who are passionate about programming like me!

Coding forever!